It’s always a treat to be introduced to new music through a striking video. The clip for Angry Young Man by Get Well Soon explores the ugly side of the relationship between people and the natural world, as seen through the eyes of children.

Edward Sharpe and The Magnetic Zeros is the musical brainchild of LA based musician Alex Ebert. The project’s music is the backbone to a twelve part music video saga called SALVO. Kisses Over Babylon is the second installment in the series. The mood of the video feels equal parts Sergio Leone and Alejandro Jodorowsky.

Massive Attack’s latest album, Heligoland, releases February 10th. In the meantime, you can check out the music video for Paradise Circus, a track which features vocals from Hope Sandoval. The video is composed of x-rated footage from the 1973 cult classic porno, The Devil In Miss Jones inter-cut with current interviews of the film’s star Georgina Spelvin discussing titillation and her life in erotic films. (NSFW)

To see an NIN rehearsal is to understand just how incredibly tight the band performs regardless of who is part of the rotating cast. I happen to be somewhat partial to this line-up because it marked the return of guitarist, Robin Finck and the last round of performances with keyboardist-guitarist, Alessandro Cortini (a friend and salt of the earth person). Here is Echoplex and 1,000,000. Also from The Slip album is Letting You and Discipline. These films were directed by the band’s resident art diector, Rob Sheridan.

Jack White’s new project is called The Dead Weather. While White spends plenty of time singing alongside of Alison Mosshart (of The Kills), he also plays the role of drummer in this outfit. The band just released their first official music video for the single Treat Me Like Your Mother which was directed by modern day auteur, Jonathan Glazer. The band will be in NYC this week, where I will see them play to a sold out crowd at Terminal 5 on Friday evening. Get to know the band. Here they are in their own words participating in one of the most ridiculous music interviews ever.


I wanted to share some of my favorite music videos directed by women making promos.

Director: Sophie Muller
Artist: Radiohead
Song: I Might Be Wrong

Director: Melina
Artist: Snoop Dogg
Song: Sensual Seduction

Director: Dawn Shadforth
Artist: Goldfrapp
Song: Train

Director: Diane Martel
Artist: Finley Quaye & William Orbit featuring Beth Orton
Song: Dice

Director: Kim Gehrig
Artist: Calvin Harris
Song: Girls

Director: Wendy Morgan
Artist: Priestess
Song: Lay Down

Director: Casey Niccolo
Artist: Jane’s Addiction
Song: Been Caught Stealing

Director: Kinga Burza
Artist: The Teenagers
Song: Homecoming

Director: Melodie McDaniel
Artist: Madonna
Song: Secret

Director: Lynne Ramsay
Artist: Doves
Song: Black and White Town

Director: Sarah Chatfield
Artist: Noisettes
Song: Scratch Your Name

Director: Corine Stubi
Artist: Death in Vegas
Song: Black Lead

Director: Floria Sigismondi
Artist: Tricky
Song: She Makes Me Want to Die

Director: Mary Lambert
Artist: Madonna
Song: Like A Prayer

Director: Valerie Faris (w/ Jonathan Dayton)
Artist: Smashing Pumpkins
Song: Tonight Tonight

The gang over at Shilo never cease to amaze me. I recently had the opportunity to work with several members of the team who are responsible for their newest piece, Still Run. These guys are truly dedicated creators and vicious ping-pong players as well.


Michel Gondry has launched his official site. For only $19.99 you can email a picture of yourself and he will personally sketch your portrait. Another available goodie is a roll of toilet with Gondry’s doodles scrawled all over so that you can “wipe your ass with Michel’s good ideas.”

The theme of this music video mixtape is “taking a walk.”

Director: Ross Harris
Artist: Elliot Smith
Song: Miss Misery

Director: Walter Stern
Artist: The Verve
Song: Bittersweet Symphony

Director: Baillie Walsh
Artist: Massive Attack
Song: Unfinished Sympathy

Director: Jonathan Glazer
Artist: UNKLE
Song: Rabbit In Your Headlights

Director: Mark Romanek
Artist: Beck
Song: Devil’s Haircut

Director: James & Alex
Artist: Coldplay
Song: Yellow

Director: Anton Corbijn
Artist: Depeche Mode
Song: Enjoy the Silence

Director: A/V Club
Artist: Morrissey
Song: I Have Forgiven Jesus